Jasmine’s Journal #2 – Growing Up || Style with Jas

Hi, everyone, happy Sunday. Thank you so much for reading my first Jasmine’s Journal if you did. My best friend actually read it and told me that she really liked it and that it was thought-provoking, which made me really happy. I don’t know how, but somehow I’ll just be doing something random like eating lunch or reading or dancing to music and all of a sudden a topic to write about will just come to me. I’ll just think about some issue or a deep topic and think, Hey, I should write about that. Today I want to write about growing up and moving onto different stages of life.

I’m going into my junior year of high school. If someone had told me while I was in 8th grade that I was going to have boy problems in high school, I probably would have laughed in their face. I used to be very insecure and shy when I was younger. I think I was always cute, but at some point between 8th grade and the middle of 9th grade, I had changed my mind. I didn’t look like all of the 5’4, bright-eyed, pretty white girls that went to my school. For some reason unknown, I thought because guys weren’t interested in me  back then, I wasn’t beautiful. By the end of my 9th grade year, I realized that those thoughts were 100%, completely and utterly wrong. You and I both don’t need to fit into some cookie cutter image that society has made for us. Don’t be afraid to break the box that society is trying to fit you into. I just think I’ve grown so much since then. Once you have that self love and confidence in yourself, it will be reflected to the world and people will be attracted to it. It’s 100% true. I want to do a whole nother post on my thoughts about self love and confidence, because I am so passionate about it, but it’s not the topic that had come to me today.

We’re going to talk about growing up and moving onto new stages in life. I think that junior year is such an significant part of everyone’s lives. You are starting to think about college more seriously, you are starting to prepare for the SAT/ACT, and you are slowly approaching the end of your high school career. While I am excited to start my junior year and see where it takes me, I’m also terrified. I have so much going on next year and I’m not sure how I’m going to be able to handle it all. I’m taking a lot of hard classes, and I took on a really big leadership role for my class. I played volleyball my freshman year, but I decided that it was best that I don’t play this year because of how busy I’m already going to be.

I know everyone says junior year of high school is the worst one or whatever, but I’m really determined to make it the best year yet. Freshman year was quite bumpy for me. Though it wasn’t all bad and I made some really great memories, I also had some really low points, such as sobbing into my pillow on my birthday, but we’re not going to talk about that. It was in the past, I cried that river, built the bridge, and got over it, and I do not plan on going back. A lot of people in my grade are starting to get their licenses this year, and I don’t even have my permit. I am the second to youngest person in my grade, and while it’s really great, it can also suck so much. Whenever people find out that I’m about a year younger than most people in my grade, I usually get a mixed response. Most say “You’re so smart for your age!” but sometimes I get the occasional “Aren’t you supposed to be in ____ grade?” Maybe I am, I don’t know, but my parents put me into school earlier. I do really like being younger because I want to study to become a surgeon and I will be going to school for a very long time, so being younger isn’t so bad.

I’ve always been an independent person for as long as I can remember. I always rely on no one but myself, and I think it’s one of my best qualities. I am fulfilled and happy with myself. That is another reason why I can’t wait to graduate high school and go into college and be truly independent and not have to worry about anyone but myself. I know that this can come off as me being selfish, but I just know what I want for myself and where I want to be.

If you’re around my age or stage of life, I hope you could relate to this post. Throughout the week, I had a few more ideas for future Jasmine’s Journal posts, so make sure you are tuning in every Sunday for new ones! I have more posts coming soon, so make sure that you are following my blog to keep up with all of them. Make sure you are also following my social media accounts that are always linked at the bottom of these posts!

love jas

Leave a Reply

