Jasmine’s Journal #1 – Social Media is Ruining Us || Style with Jas

Hello everyone and happy Sunday! I know it’s really weird to see a post from me on a Sunday, but I actually had an idea that I wanted to carry out. On my old blog, Chanel in a Nutshell, I used to publish posts every single Sunday that I would call Tea Time and I would just share my thoughts, realizations, and experiences throughout the week, one thought, realization, or experience in particular, and/or updates on my life (almost) every single week. My initial idea was to create a series called Redesign Your Life, where I would give my advice on certain topics and common struggles between people. I think it would be a lot more personal and a learning experience for not only you, but for me as well, if I were to just come onto here every Sunday and share my thoughts, realizations, experiences, as well as updates on my life with you. I thought the name Jasmine’s Journal was a little more practical, self-explanatory, and not something that I would grow out of.

It’s currently summertime and I’ve had a lot of time on my hands to do pretty much whatever I want to. I already eat a pretty balanced diet, but I decided to tweak it a little bit by cutting out processed foods. I may have a bag of barbecue potato chips every once in awhile, but for the most part I will not be eating processed foods. I’ve been super inspired with this and have been scouring the internet and Pinterest for new recipes and food to try. I wake up at 7 AM every morning and work out for 30-45 minutes too. I really love working out first thing in the morning, it makes me feel so good, super inspired, and just ready to start my day.

I was sitting on my bed, on my phone, refreshing Twitter for the fourth time when I actually had a realization. What was I doing? How long had I been sitting on my phone for? I had always heard people saying that social media will ruin your life and that we’re all too addicted to our phones.The voice in my head had told me, Maybe you should pick up that book you just borrowed from the library. Go drink some water. Get up and do something productive! I consider myself a very productive person for my age. I’m only 15 years old and I feel I do way more things than the average 15 year old. Although I very much enjoy social media, I don’t consider myself obsessed. Sometimes, I just find myself falling into a social media hypnosis. I think that this happens to a lot of us.

When you think about it, social media is fake. The only things that we put onto our social media accounts are the highlights of our days, the high points in our lives. Moments like when you graduate high school, or you’re going to brunch with your boyfriend of two years. What you won’t see is that maybe that person graduated high school with a 2.5 GPA. What you won’t see is that someone fought with their boyfriend right before brunch because they were taking too long to get ready. Once you are following certain someone on social media for a long time, you unconsciously start to form an image of this person. You only see that they supposedly have this perfect body, perfect boyfriend, perfect family, perfect life, when it’s not true. When you have this perfect image of someone in your mind, that’s when the comparison starts to kick in.

I think that self-comparison is a huge issue that people deal with. Comparison will kill you. People create these false images of other people and then start to compare themselves to these images. But I don’t look like her. I don’t have as many friends as them. So? As Hannah Montana taught me when I was in elementary school, life is what you make it. You are in control of your life. You are the only one that you have at the end of the day, so why are you wasting your time worrying about someone else? Do you see how much social media can affect all of us without even thinking about it? Think about that the next time you find yourself aimlessly scrolling through your Instagram feed.

That’s kind of what was on my mind when I realized that I should probably turn off my phone. Lana Del Rey’s newest album, Lust for Life came out on Friday. If you know anything about me, you know that I absolutely love Lana Del Rey. I’m actually obsessed. I know every single lyric to every single song (excluding the new album for now, and give or take two or three songs). I stayed up until the minute the album came out and listened to it. Don’t even ask me what my favorite song on the album is, because I honestly love every single one.

Anyway, I really enjoyed talking with you all and sharing some of my thoughts on social media and stuff. Let me know what you thought about this post below! Thank you so much for reading, and don’t forget to follow me on social media!

love jas

Instagram // @stylewjas
Twitter // @stylewithjas

 

2 thoughts on “Jasmine’s Journal #1 – Social Media is Ruining Us || Style with Jas

Leave a Reply

